Jumbo is Greek for Omega

20130222_131307

Welcome back, EOFers. (I always feel so vulgar when I say that). This week has been crazy, and so todays Eat Out Friday was something I was excited about. And with my recent success in finding true diamonds in the rough (Aladdin style), I was hoping to continue my string of good luck.

I opened todays decision up to my faithful Facebook fans, asking for a random number from the list that I have put together. Heather Palmer got the nod today, giving me number 8, which is listed as “Jumbo Burgers” on 12th street and Wall ave, in Ogden Utah. I had heard good things about another Jumbo Burger up on 27th North in North Ogden, so I decided to give it a try, even though I did a burger place last week.

Well, as it turns out, Jumbo is actually greek for Omega, cuz Jumbo was no longer there and all we found was Omega Burgers. Since we were already there, we decided to give it a go. I will say, the best part about this place, is on the front of the building they have actually just taken off the “Jumbo”, and left “Burgers”. Cheap and effective advertising at it’s best.

20130222_125931

Manuel came with me today, bless his heart, and got the Pastrami Burger. According to him, Big Jim’s on Harrison still has the best Pastrami burger in Ogden. I decided to do the Double Cheese Burger. While it was ok, I have had better. If you have ever been to Logan Burger up in Logan (which I love!!), it reminded me a lot of them, only not as good. With a greek menu mixed with burgers, Omega Burger left me a little disapointed. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t “amaze-balls” either. Over all, I give it a 2 1/2 on my TYI scale. The restaurant itself falls nicely into what I look for in the hole-in-the-wall-never-heard-of-the-place-are-you-serious? category, it just wasn’t that great. I would probably only go there again if I was really hungry and I was going to the Movie Theater right next door.

Till next time, thanks for reading, and enjoy your eating. Peace.

20130222_130518

No, I did not shave this week, and yes, I realize I look totally stoned in this picture.

